October 14, 2017

NOVA Entertainment won 15 awards at the Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs), including Best On Air Team, at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre this evening.

Kate Ritchie, Tim Blackwell and Marty Sheargold, from Nova’s Kate, Tim & Marty Drive show, took out the night’s most anticipated award, winning the Best On Air Team - Metro FM for the second consecutive year.

With back to back wins, Kent ‘Smallzy’ Small from Australia’s number one national night show Smallzy’s Surgery, took home the ACRA for Best Music or Entertainment Presenter Metro and Star 104.5’s Dave Rabbett won in the same category for the Provincial market.

Nova’s Red Room with Ed Sheeran Live from Sydney Opera House took out the top spot for Best Multimedia Execution and smoothfm’s extension into the experiential space, the smooth Festival of Chocolate, won Best Marketing Campaign.

Nova 106.9’s Jay Walkerden won Best Program Director, Nova 106.9’s Georgina Ingham-Myers Best Music Director and Star 104.5’s Cassie Grentell was recognised as Best Promotions Director.

On the news front, Steve Blanda from smoothfm won Best News Presenter for Metro FM and Caitlin Unger took out the top honour in the Provincial category.

From a commercial perspective, NOVA Entertainment won Best Sales Promotion for Vodafone Powers Nova, Nova 93.7’s Simon Mikulich took out the Best Agency Salesperson and Star 104.5’s Matt Lygoe took out the top spot for Best Station Produced Commercial – (Single). NOVA Entertainment also took out the top spot for Best Station Produced Commercial – Campaign with Nova 93.7’s Garry Dean and Drew Barrett winning the Metro category and Star 104.5’s Marc Dwyer and Matt Lygoe Non Metro.

Cathy O’Connor, NOVA Entertainment CEO said, “Tonight’s results reflect the hard work our on and off air teams deliver all year and the consistency of our product and program lineup. We couldn’t be more proud of our winners and everyone working alongside them. In a radio landscape that is undergoing major changes, our focus continues to be on creating high quality and consistent content and commercial solutions.”

Below is the full list of NOVA Entertainment’s ACRA winners:

  • Best On Air Team – Metro Kate, Tim & Marty; Nova Network 
  • Best Entertainment/Music Presenter - Metro Kent ‘Smallzy’ Small; Nova Network
  • Best Entertainment/Music Presenter – Provincial Dave Rabbett; Star 104.5
  • Best Program Director – Metro Jay Walkerden; Nova 106.9
  • Best Marketing Campaign smooth Festival of Chocolate
  • Best News Presenter – Metro FM Steve Blanda; smoothfm
  • Best News Presenter Country - Provincial Caitlin Unger; Star 104.5
  • Best Music Director Georgina Ingham-Myers; Nova 106.9 Brisbane
  • Best Promotions Director – NM Cassie Grentell; Star 104.5
  • Best Sales Promotion Vodafone Powers Nova; NOVA Entertainment
  • Best Multimedia Executive – Station Nova’s Red Room with Ed Sheeran Live from Sydney Opera House; Nova Network
  • Best Agency Salesperson Simon Mikulich; Nova 93.7 Perth
  • Best Station Produced Commercial - Single Matt Lygoe; Star 104.5 (NM)
  • Best Station Produced Commercial – Campaign Garry Dean & Drew Barrett; Nova 93.7 Perth (M)
  • Best Station Produced Commercial – Campaign Marc Dwyer & Matt Lygoe; Star 104.5 (NM)